"Accelerating the use of genomic technologies in Australasia"

2017 CONFERENCE AWARDS (Hobart) – Travel Awards

AGTA generally offers travel awards at each annual conference to assist participants from the more remote locations (relative to conference location) to attend

Travel Awards

$900 awards to:

Sandra Fitzgerald, The University of Auckland, NZ

Priyanka Sinha, University of Otago, NZ

$800 award to:

Denise Anderson, Telethon Kids Institute, WA

$300 award to:

Devika Ganesamoorthy, The University of Queensland

Farhana Matin, Queensland University of Technology

Haojing Shao, The University of Queensland

Nicholas Blackburn, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Simon Hardwick, Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Kaitao Lai, CSIRO, NSW

Aidan O’Brien, CSIRO, NSW

2017 CONFERENCE AWARDS (Hobart) – ECR and Student

AGTA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Conference Awards. Congratulations to all recipients!

Early Career Researcher Prizes

Nigel Swanston Oral Award ($1,000) – Dr. Mark Pinese, Kinghorn Cancer Centre, N.S.W.; The Medical Genome Reference Bank – Genomics of a disease-depleted, elderly Australian cohort

Agena Bioscience Poster Prize ($500) –  Ms. Nadine Dunn, Institute of Environmental Science and Research (ESR) Ltd, Auckland, NZ.; Time course gene expression analysis of forensic blood samples

Student Prizes

Nigel Swanston Oral Award ($1,000) – Mr. Simon Hardwick, Garvan Institute of Medical Research; Spliced synthetic genes as internal controls in RNA-seq experiments

Agena Bioscience Poster Prize – Ms. Clare Puttick, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, N.S.W.; ROHMER: A tool for identifying runs of homozygosity in whole genome data


2016 CONFERENCE AWARDS (Auckland, N.Z.)

AGTA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 Conference Awards. Congratulations!

Early Career Researcher Prizes

Best Oral Presentation ($1,000) – Sam Buckberry, University of Western Australia, W.A. Characterising epigenome dynamics during the reprogramming of somatic cells to IPS Cells

Best Poster ($500) –  Daniel Thomson, Garvan Institute of Medical Research. The Recycled Genome – RNA Captureseq reveals widespread expression of Human pseudogenes as chimeric gene isoforms

Student Prizes

Best Oral Presentation ($1,000) – Beth Signal, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, N.S.W.
Comprehensive Machine Learning Annotation of Human Splicing Branchpoints

Best Poster ($500) Abdulmonem Alsaleh, Department of Pathology, University of Otago.

Using DNA methylation to Identify the fetal cell of origin f or Childhood Acute Lymphoblastic Leukaemia


AGTA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 Conference Awards. Congratulations!

Early Career Researcher Prizes

Best Poster ($500) – Dr Alan Rubin, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI), VIC.
Functionally characterizing every single mutation in Your Favourite Gene

Best Oral Presentation ($500) – Dr Nenad Bartonicek, Garvan Institute of Medical Research.
Uncovering Hidden Genes in Intergenic GWAS Regions

Runner Up Poster ($250) – Dr Dessislava Mladenova, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, N.S.W.
The Effect of ADAR3 Deficiency on RNA Editing in Mouse Hippocampus

Student Prizes

Best Oral Presentation ($500) – Laura Baker, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, N.S.W.
Single-cell Analysis of Breast Cancer Molecular Subtype Reveals Clinically Relevant Heterogeneity

Best Poster ($500) – Kokulapalan Wimalanathan, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Iowa State University, U.S.A.
Maize – GO Annotation Methods Evaluation and Review (Maize-GAMER)

Runner Up Poster ($250) – Ryan Zeppel, University of Adelaide, S.A.
Genomic insights into the nitrate assimilation potential of Brettanomyces bruxellensis isolates.



Early Career Researcher Prizes

Best Poster Presentation – Dr David Goode, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, VIC
Amplicon-based targeted resequencing identifies novel genetic risk factors for sarcoma and an association between genetic load and age of onset in sarcoma patients

Best Poster Presentation – Dr Jovana Maksimovic, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, VIC
Epigenetics, T-cells and autoimmunity: A bioinformatics story

Best Oral Presentation – Dr Nadia Davidson, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, VIC
Identifying fusion genes and other transcriptional variation in cancer through de novo transcriptome assembly

Student Prizes

Best Poster Presentation – David Kainer, Australian National University, ACT
Towards Genomic Selection for essential oil yield in Eucalyptus and Melaleuca

Best Poster Presentation– Kelly Quek, Queensland Centre For Medical Genomics, QLD
Structural Variation in Pancreatic Cancer Genomes

Best Oral Presentation – Sophia Cameron-Christie, University of Otago, Otago, New Zealand
Mapping shared markers across a polynesian population in the genomic age